HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION INFORMATION

Homestead exemptions provide a significant reduction in annual property taxes and are available to individuals
who own and reside in a home in DeKalb County. In order to be eligible for the exemption the following
requirements must be met:
e The property must be the legal residence for all purposes (including the filing of Federal and State income taxes,
registering any owned or leased vehicles, registering to vote, etc.) on January 1%
e Only private residences are eligible for homestead exemption — rental property, vacant land and commercial
entities are not eligible
e Owners of multiple properties are allowed only one homestead exemption — at their primary residence
e Married couples are considered as one entity by state law, and are entitled to a single exemption regardless of
living arrangements
e Application must be completed by owner of property — exemptions are not automatically granted
e Application must be received by April 1% deadline - if received after deadline, it is processed for the following
year

Homestead exemptions are not transferable, and must be reapplied for at the new home. Basic homestead
applications may be processed by mail, in person, or online at www.dekalbcountyga.gov/taxcommissioner .
Applicant(s) for senior or disability exemptions must apply in person and present copies of the previous
year’s Federal and State income tax returns, any Social Security Form 1099s, proof of age, and/or proof of
100% total and permanent disability. Once an exemption has been granted, it remains in place as long as the
applicant continues to reside on the property. A Property Assessment Freeze is applied to all properties
granted homestead exemption for County assessments.

H1 - Basic Homestead Exemption
DeKalb homeowners receive an assessment exemption of $12,500 for school taxes and $10,000 for County
levies (except bonds). There are no age or income requirements.

If you are 62 years of age or 100% Permanently Disabled you may be eligible for either —

H3 - Senior or Disability Exemption
This has a household income limit of $10,000 Georgia Net Income*. Exempts the recipient(s) from all school
taxes, and maintains the exemption of $10,000 for County levies (except bonds).

H7 — Senior or Disability Exemption
This has a household income limit of $16,000 Gross Income. It reduces taxable value of property by $22,500
for school taxes, and by $10,000 for County levies (except bonds).

If you are 65 years of age or 100% Permanently Disabled you may be eligible for either —

H4 — Senior Exemption
This has a household income limit of $10,000 Georgia Net Income*. This exempts the recipient(s) from all
school taxes, and increases the exemption to $14,000 for all County levies.

H6 - Senior or Disability Exemption
This has a household income limit of $15,000 Georgia Net Income*. It increases the exemption to $16,500 for
school taxes and $14,000 for County levies.

H8 — Senior Exemption
This has a household income limit of $16,000 Gross Income. It increases the exemption to $22,500 for school
taxes and $14,000 for all County levies.



If you are 70 years of age, you may be eligible for —

H9 - Senior Exemption
This has a household income limit of $84,115 Federal Adjusted Gross PLUS Municipal Bonds. It exempts the
applicant(s) from school taxes and maintains the exemption of $10,000 for County levies (except bonds).

If you are a Disabled Veteran, you may be eligible for either -

H5 —Veteran\Veteran Spousal Exemption
There are no age or financial requirements for this exemption. Provides an exemption of $72,965 for school
levies and $70,465 for all other levies. Applicant must be an Honorably Discharged Veteran with either a
service connected or non-service connected disability and must meet one of the following requirements:
1 — presentation of a Letter of Adjudication from the U. S. Department of Veterans Affairs stating that the
veteran is entitled to 100% service-connected disability;
OR
2 — presentation of the veteran’s Honorable Discharge (DD214) and a doctor’s letter of certification attesting
that the veteran has one or more of the following conditions:
A — Loss or loss of use of both lower extremities, precluding locomotion without the use of braces,
crutches, canes or a wheelchair;
B — Blindness in both eyes, having only light perception, PLUS loss or loss of use of one extremity,
which so affects the function of balance or propulsion so as to preclude locomotion without
resorting to a wheelchair;
C — Loss or loss of use of one lower extremity TOGETHER WITH residuals of organic disease or injury
which so affects the function of balance or propulsion so as to preclude locomotion without
resorting to a wheelchair;
D — Loss or loss of use of one lower extremity TOGETHER WITH loss or loss of use of one upper
extremity which so affects the function of balance or propulsion so as to preclude locomotion
without the use of braces, crutches, canes or a wheelchair.
NOTE: This exemption may be transferred to, or applied for by, the un-remarried widow(er) of a disabled
veteran or to the un-remarried surviving spouse of a US service member killed in action.

H10 - Disabled Veterans Exemption

Disabled veterans who have reached the age of 65 as of January 1 AND meet the requirements for the H5
disabled veterans exemption (above) may be eligible. There is a household income limit of $10,000 Georgia
Net Income*. It exempts the applicant from all school taxes, and provides exemption of $70,465 for all other
levies. This exemption may be transferred to, or applied for by, the un-remarried widow(er) of a disabled
veteran or to the un-remarried surviving spouse of a US service member killed in action.

If you are the un-remarried spouse of a Peace Officer or Firefighter killed in the line of duty — There is an
exemption that provides an exemption for all ad valorem property taxes. This will not affect any special
assessments assigned to the property (sanitation, stormwater, or streetlights, etc.). This exemption must be
applied for in person.

* The Georgia Net Income requirement used for determination of eligibility is a not a number found on income
tax forms, but a formula provided by the Georgia Department of Revenue. For 2015, up to $31,956 for an
individual or 563,912 for joint applicants in Social Security and retirement benefits may be excluded when
calculating Georgia Net Income.



